Reviews

Review of "Madiba, dedication to Nelson Mandela": 

 "...This is a very powerful and inspired song... This song reminds me a bit of "Biko" by Peter Gabriel and is not un-coincidentally, also about another South African…."  Jimmy Lloyd - Executive Producer and Host, The Jimmy Lloyd Songwriter Showcase on NBC (via Music XRay ) 

 

“This is a lovely ode to the legend himself Nelson Mandela – beautifully original, meaningful and thought-provoking lyrics over a very well-produced musical set.  Stunning vocals, piano, drums and percussion take centre stage with acoustic guitars.  The message is deep and the big man himself would be proud!” Wouter Kellerman (“Symphonic Soweto” World Music album)

 

"A MASTERPIECE!!!  The title Track, "Wild Horse Running Free" is a GLOBAL ANTHEM FOR HUMANITY!!! 

THE DEGREE IN WHICH YOU INFUSE COMPASSION INTO EVERY FIBER OF EVERY NOTE IN EACH SONG IS TRULY MAGICAL.

YOU HAVE THE ABILITY TO MAKE THE WORLD FEEL. THIS IS A KEY INGREDIENT TO MAKING THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE FOR US ALL."

Alan Weisman, Cavallino Music, May 2017

 

“Beautiful beautiful music:

I am a caregiver in Pasadena, California, USA. My sister gave me this CD recently when we had a quiet moment together. Now, whenever I come home from a really hard day, I make the house dark, light candles, slip into the bath with a glass of Merlot, and listen to these beautiful beautiful songs as sung by Nicolette Aubourg, as sung

by one who has loved well, and often, and deeply.”

A music fan from Pasadena, CA 12/11/02

 

“Lovely music, lovely artist, lovely album:

My trainer gave me this album as a birthday gift earlier this year, and I keep telling her how wonderful it is. Thank you, thank you, thank you. She (my trainer) said that Nicolette Aubourg has a hauntingly beautiful voice, and I agree, but to me it is about the songs. They are so right on. I get them. This is the album that was written for me. I love it and highly recommend it to everyone. Nicolette, you go girl!”

Christy from Walnut Creek, CA 12/11/02

 

 “The best new album I have heard all year!

Nicolette Aubourg's Grand View Drive is an outstanding album. Her songs are haunting, well crafted and memorable. She is also a brilliant guitar player, performer and singer. This is the type of album that does not come along very often!! I love it!!”

A music fan from Los Angeles, CA 11/22/02

"One of the reasons I really love this CD is that it affects me both intellectually AND emotionally. And the great thing is that it does both of these without sounding like it's trying to at all. Not many albums can do that."

James Beaton 3/3/03

“I found your music, and lyrics to be even inspirational as I became absorbed in your songs. You being able to write from life's experiences with both humans and animals says something to me about you the person.”

Dave Fibiger 10/13/02

 

“… hauntingly beautiful reminds

me of silver moonlight - gives goosebumps …” Jane Rolfe 10/2/02

 

“I have been playing your CD over and over trying to decide which song I like best and all I have succeeded in doing is to confuse myself totally… I love the Cello in the accompaniment and think your guitar work is excellent.”

Grace Reeler 7/20/02

 

“I have found myself playing many of the songs over and over.  They are sometimes soothing, sometimes provocative and many times touch my heart.”

Maria Fibiger 7/8/02

 

“It is beautiful… The arrangements and orchestration are wonderful…”

Jamie Lewis 6/13/02

 

 

Reviews of "Songs from Willow Glen" on iTunes:

"Great acoustic folk" 
by obladida
A very uplifting album considering some of it was written after the passing of her mother. It's very interesting how the losing of a loved one and the end of a relationship can affect you in similar ways, so you're often times not quite sure which person Nicolette is referring to. All that aside, "Craig's List" is a good "pop" song, but my favorite track is "Ode To A Dog"

 

"Even better than the first album!" by The Uncool, 2008

I wasn't in the mood to check out anything new. And I definitely wasn't in the mood to get emotional. But that's just what happened when I popped in Nicolette's latest record. You know I think it proves what I heard Paul Schrader say one time. The most personal thing you write is usually what ends up having the most universal appeal. It's ironic but true. Proof of that is no more clearer than in the opening track "Learning to Live...". I mean it's a very PERSONAL song about getting on with life after a major breakup, but I guarantee everyone can relate to every line in it. I haven't even had a major  break up, but even I find myself relating big time to the concept of doing anything (reading a book, drinking some wine, going on a hike) just to keep my mind off of someone. "Craig's List" is a great song too. First off, what a great hook-y (I know that's not a word), melodic, sing-a-long chorus (actually the whole song is sing a long). And the great thing is, one can take it at face value that the person really has been saved from desperate loneliness by the personals and is genuinely thanking Craig. Or, it could even be a bit of a scathing commentary on the kind of society we are in now. Using "10 year old pics" for our profiles, being so disconnected that it takes a long time to go from e-mail to phone, and we can't even type without making typos! For me, it could be either meaning and that's what makes it great! I'm not going to go on and on about every song..... Oh, wait. "You Don't Care" is another really great song. A pretty brutal and frank song, yet it's dressed up in such great vocals and sweetness that the listener almost forgets that this is about someone feeling that, "I have no power to change your past, your pain, your sadness, your cold heart..." This really great songwriting. "I should have saved myself" is great stuff too. If the title doesn't say it all, how about lines like "...And I hold on to the pain just to be near you" to show the kind emotional mind field we're dealing with here? Emotional mind fields that are dressed up in folky-poppy musical arrangements, insightful songwriting and great vocals. Folks, it doesn't get much better than that.

 

I finally took time out to listen to your

song, - sound, - sorrow, --- soul;

over and over; - (like a teen-ager); - and I

am not sorry I spent the time.........

I am moved by your plaintive honesty,

allowing access to such as me -

so remote - and yet with so much in common -

and craving to share -

artfully - with those we may touch - with

profound concern; conviction;

passion; compassion.............

 

Gratefully;

Ernest R.

Laurel Canyon, Los Angeles

FYC 60th GRAMMY AWARDS 2018!

"Wild Horse Running Free" 

by Nicolette Aubourg

Best FOLK album; Best AMERICAN ROOTS SONG & Best AMERICAN ROOTS PERFORMANCE for "Wild Horse Running Free"; PRODUCER (non-classical), ENGINEER (non-classical); RECORDING PACKAGE, ALBUM NOTES